About UPCAP




Boards & Committees



UPCAP Board Member and Alger County Commissioner, Jerry Doucette, became president of the MI Assn of Counties (MAC) Board of Directors at the 2015 Annual Conf. in September.   In his acceptance speech at the conference's Plenary Session, he urged commissioners to become more involved in the policy-making process by holding state legislators accountable.   Read the complete text of his remarks at this link: http://tinyurl.com/MACDoucette     Pictured with Sen. Casperson who offered remarks about Doucette during the swearing-in ceremony.



UPCAP Board of Directors

2016 Meetings:
    • Friday - May 20            - Time TBA @ Island Resort & Casino W/UPACC Conf
    • Friday - August 26       - 11 a.m. EDT @ UPCAP
    • Friday - December 16 - 11 a.m. EST @ UPCAP


UPCAP Executive Committee

2016 Meetings:
    • Thursday - May 19       - Time TBA @ Island Resort & Casino w/UPACC Conf
    • Friday - August 26       - 1 p.m. EDT @ UPCAP w/UPCAP Bd Dir Mtg
    • Friday - October 20     - Time TBA @ Island Resort & Casino w/UPACC Conf
    • Friday - December 16 - 1 p.m. EST @ UPCAP w/UPCAP Bd Dir Mtg


UP AAA Advisory Council

2016 Meetings:
   • Tuesday - June 21        - 11 a.m. EDT @ UPCAP
   • Tuesday - August 16    - 11 a.m. EDT @ UPCAP
   • Tuesday - October 18   - 11 a.m. EDT @ UPCAP
   • Friday - December 16   - 11 a.m. EST @ UPCAP w/Bd of Dir


U.P. State Fair Authority

The Authority is responsible for coordinating and providing a variety of services related to the U.P. State Fair and the fairgrounds for the citizens of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.

2016 Governing Board Meetings:
  • Friday, June 17             - 11:30 a.m. EDT @ UPCAP
  • Friday, September 23  - 11:30 a.m. EDT @ UPCAP
  • Friday, November 18   - 11:30 a.m. EST @ UPCAP

2016 Executive Committee Meetings: TBA

2016 Buildings & Grounds Committee Meetings:
  • Held at 10 a.m. Eastern, prior to the Governing Board Meetings


U.P. 9-1-1 Authority

The Authority is responsible for coordinating and providing a variety of services with respect to 9-1-1 Emergency call answering and service dispatching across Michigan's Upper Peninsula.

2016 Meetings:
    • Friday, June 3            - 11 a.m. EDT @ UPCAP
    • Friday, September 9 - 11 a.m. EDT @ UPCAP
    • Friday, December 2   - 11 a.m. EST @ UPCAP

Board meeting schedules are also found on the Event Calendar   page.

UPCAP Board of Directors Meeting - October 2012

Paul Burns (Legislative Aide to Representative Ed McBroom), Representative Ed McBroom, Senator Carl Levin, Amy Berglund (Regional Representative to Senator Carl Levin) and State Senator Tom Casperson